How to enable the Anonymizer
- Go to [Settings] > [General] tab and in the lower left part of the window, check the box [Anonymize your nickname in battle].
- NOTE: you cannot turn this on or off while you are in battle.
- After turning on the Anonymizer, other players in battle will see you with a randomly generated nickname. If you are a member of a clan, the Anonymizer will also hide this.
How this works
The Anonymizer only works during a battle and hides both the player's nickname and statistics. The game generates a random plausible nickname for each battle. However, other players can find out after the battle when they want to see your statistics.
To view the nickname other players see you with while in battle, hover over the “Anonymizer Enabled” icon next to your nickname on the team list.
The Anonymizer does not help avoid sanctions. The game server, as well as Player Support, can track down all accounts.
The Anonymizer works in:
- Random battles (Standard, Assault, Encounter, and Grand Battles)
- Ranked battles
- PvP modes
- Some seasonal modes and events
The Anonymizer does NOT work in:
- Team Training
- Stronghold battles (Skirmish and Advance)
- Global map battles
- In post-battle statistics. If a player used the Anonymizer, you can find the real nickname by clicking on the player that interests you and, if the Anonymizer was used, you will see the real nickname.
The Anonymizer and Platoons
The Anonymizer works with both static and dynamic platoons. However, you and your platoon mates will still see your real nicknames while the random nickname provided by the Anonymizer will be displayed to your other teammates and adversaries.
Q. Which username will be displayed in a battle replay? The real one or the randomly generated one?
A. The battle replay displays the real nickname of the player who recorded the replay. Other player nicknames, if anonymized, will be displayed in the same way as they were during battle. That is, if one of the players used the Anonymizer, you will see its randomly generated nickname.
Q. Can I add a player with an anonymized username as a friend?
A. Yes. When you send a friend request in battle, the player who used the Anonymizer will have to confirm the request. If the friend request is accepted, you will see the real nickname.
Q. Can I blacklist a player with an anonymized username?
A. Yes. The process works the same way for a real nickname. The account linked to that specific anonymized nickname will be added to your blacklist.
Q. Do I need to re-enable the Anonymizer after each battle?
A. No. This feature is either permanently enabled or disabled until the player manually changes the setting.
Q. I can't use the Anonymizer. Why?
A. Player Support may temporarily or permanently disable the ability to use the Anonymizer if an account is found to have been systematically behaving improperly or violating the game rules by taking advantage of the fact that the real nickname was hidden.